EMS at the Federal Level



Featured Resources

The Federal Interagency Committee for Emergency Medical Services (FICEMS) was established in 2005 by the reauthorization of the Department of Transportation. Public Law 109-59 (Section 10202), to ensure coordination among federal agencies involved with state, local, tribal and regional emergency medical services and 9-1-1 systems.

The following agencies are represented on FICEMS:

Department of Transportation

  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Department of Health and Human Services

  • Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
  • Division of Child, Adolescent and Family Health, Health Resources and Services Administration
  • Division of Injury Response, Centers of Disease Control and Prevention
  • Office of Operations Management, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Emergency Services, Indian Health Services

Department of Homeland Security

  • Office of Health Affairs
  • U.S. Fire Administration

Department of Defense

  • Assistant Secretary for Defense Health Affairs

Federal Communications Commission

  • Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

State EMS Medical Director

For more information about the role of federal agencies in supporting EMS, click here.